Four Weddings and a Break Up by Elyssa Patrick

Four Weddings and a Break Up by Elyssa Patrick
ASIN: B00K96BQWQ
Published:  May 12, 2014

From Elyssa Patrick comes a light, sexy, emotional contemporary romance perfect for fans of Jill Shalvis, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, and Bella Andre, about what happens when a fake relationship becomes all too real. 

One fake relationship . . .

Ginny Michaels has always been a good girl and—ever since surviving a school shooting a little over a year ago—hailed a hero. Except she doesn’t feel like a hero. She can’t even have a one-night stand with sexy Wes Dalton properly. When her big city fling resurfaces in her hometown with an intriguing proposition, she’s powerless to resist. A fake relationship is exactly what’s needed to keep her small town’s matchmakers at bay during the upcoming wedding season. If only her attraction to Wes were as easy to ignore.

Too many real kisses . . .

Wes Dalton doesn’t have many regrets, and that includes his night with Ginny. But he’s always hoped to strengthen his relationship with his estranged family. When his father’s health takes a bad turn, Wes puts his life on hold and moves to the meddling seaside town of Cape Hope. With his barriers in place—and a beautiful woman to help him hold them up—he’s prepared for anything. Or so he thinks. Despite his determination to leave as soon as the summer is over, those fake kisses are starting to feel an awful lot like the real thing.

Hotness Rating 3 out of 5

I am the luckiest girl in the world. As a reviewer I get exposed to so many books that I might not normally read. It would have been a crime if I would have missed this one. I can not tell you how much I loved this book! Four Weddings and a Break Up by Elyssa Patrick is the first book of the Cape Hope series and boy do the next books have a lot to live up to. 

Ginny Michaels is a local hero, not a title that she enjoys in the least. Getting shot by your student while trying to save the life of another student a hero does not make, in her opinion. She just wants to be the same old carefree girl she was before her life was tragically changed. That’s why when her sister, cousin, and the rest of her cousin’s bachelorette party friends dares her to give Mr. Dangerous, a guy she’s been ogling all night, her phone number she reluctantly agrees. Wow! Sparks fly and she has the best 24 minutes of her life. Thank goodness it’s just a one night (okay 24 minute) stand. She knows she wouldn’t be able to face him after that wild time. 

Wes Dalton is in for some big changes. He’s come back home, not that he ever really called it his home. Raised by his single mom in Las Vegas he would spend summers with his 3 half-brothers and dad, but he always felt like an outsider. His dad has Alzheimer’s and Wes knows this is his last chance to have a relationship and heal old wounds with his family. He knows it’s going to be a rough, emotional couple of months, but he had no idea that his whole entire would be changed. Walking through the grocery store, lost in his thoughts, he runs smack into the beautiful Ginny. The woman that he spent an amazingly, hot evening with. He blunders this little reunion and spends the rest of the story blundering and then atoning for it. 

This book is filled with so much witty humor that I just wanted to read more and more. Wes is everything you could ever want in a man! He’s not perfect and I freaking loved how he would say the absolute worse thing and then later try to fix it. Ginny is sweet and one tough chick. I loved how she could be vulnerable and she had wants, but she was never needy. The secondary characters were just as lovable and fabulous. Ginny’s sister, Julie, is the best sister ever. She is supportive and loving, yet perfectly content to make fun of her sister given the opportunity. Her mom was outrageous and lovely. Wes’s family was just as great! They had huge issues and will continue to deal with them, but they are all good men and do the right thing when presented with the chance. I can’t wait to hear more from Seth, Jake, and TJ. Please, please, please, Ms. Patrick, write fast. 

I give Four Weddings and a Break Up 4.5 Flaming Hearts

4.5 Hearts